About Us

The name Derbarl Yerrigan is the Whadjuk Noongar name for the Swan River. Derbarl Yerrigan Health Service is an Aboriginal community controlled health organisation which was established in 1974 as the Perth Aboriginal Medical Service; changing its name in 1998 to Derbarl Yerrigan Health Service. We provide holistic and integrated primary health care services to Aboriginal people living in the Perth metropolitan region and employ 127 staff across our head office and clinic in East Perth and clinics in Maddington, Midland and Mirrabooka.

DYHS transitioned from the Associations Act (WA) in 2017 to the Corporations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) Act 2006 (CATSI Act), and are now known as Derbarl Yerrigan Health Service Aboriginal Corporation (DYHSAC).