Our Patron

We have recently appointed Professor Sandra Eades as our inaugural patron.

Professor Sandra Eades is a Noongar woman from Mount Barker, Western Australia. She completed her medical degree in 1990 and after working as a general practitioner at the Derbarl Yerrigan Health Service in Perth, she started her career in health research at the Telethon Institute for Child Health Research where her focus was on the epidemiology of Indigenous child health in Australia. In 2003 Professor Eades became Australia’s first Aboriginal medical doctor to be awarded a Doctorate of Philosophy from the University of Western Australia. Her PhD investigated the causal pathways and determinants of health among Aboriginal infants in the first year of life.

Professor Eades was named NSW Woman of the Year 2006 in recognition of her research contributions to Aboriginal communities. She also received a ‘Deadly Award’ (National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Awards) for Outstanding Achievement in Health.

Over the past decade she has made substantial contributions to the area of Aboriginal health and has provided leadership at a national level in Aboriginal research. Both Indigenous and non-Indigenous colleagues acknowledge Professor Eades as a leader and role model in Indigenous health research. Professor Sandra Eades is Associate Dean (Indigenous), Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, University of Melbourne. Sandra has recently been appointed an Initiating Fellow of the new Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.